Even the Little Things

So, there I was, pacing back and forth between the living room and the bathroom.  It’s a little after 10 am and I have already made the bed and cooked breakfast.  My quiet times get very intense.  I get so into the Bible study aspect that often it takes hours before I come to a place where I can stop.  I don’t want to quit when God is speaking to me through His Word. What God says to me is important, so I want to write it down.  This is where the dilemma comes in.  If I do my Bible study first thing like all the “good teachers” dictate I should do, then I end up in my pajamas until 2:00 in the afternoon!  I also feel more alert after I take a shower. But, often after I take a shower, I end up distracted and procrastinate the Bible study time and well, often it doesn’t get done at all.  This is why, many days, I totally don’t have my quiet time until bedtime because I know once I start, I may be into the latter part of the day before it’s over.  But, if I have the time available…and God is meeting with me…why would I want to do anything else?

This takes me to the pacing back and forth between the living room and the bathroom with my prayer shawl over my head as I try to reason and start praying for what God would have me to do. Yes, this is warfare.

The enemy never lets up.  It is his job to distract us from the things of God, even and especially in the little things.  He especially works on us to distract us from our quiet time.  He is there the whole time putting thoughts into my head about things I need to get done and how time is passing as I am soaking in God’s Word and hearing from Him.

So, as I write this, I am still trying to determine if I should shower first or study first. I think I will shower first so I will be fresh and awake and I won’t be sitting in my jammies at 2:00!  I can’t wait to hear what God has for me today!!!! Hopefully, I will be posting about it soon! First step…walk away from my puter!

2 thoughts on “Even the Little Things

Leave a comment