How Do I Pray?

Proverbs3_5Today, during my prayer time, I brought some frustrations to the Lord.  I have been struggling about prayer.  I have been reading Oswald Chambers’ “His Utmost Highest” devotional this year.  It’s absolutely wonderful with some amazing insight. But, as with all authors, I don’t agree with everything. I do have a mind of my own and I seek God when I don’t agree with some things.  One thing I have struggled with is prayer.

There have been multiple devotions that discuss the Christian’s prayer life. They have caused conflict in my spirit.  That, coupled with things that John Piper has said (as well as my favorite author, Beth Moore, pastors, professors and others), has caused me to be frustrated when I pray.  Should I just praise God and not ask for anything?  Should I just pray for the needs of others since He already knows my needs?  Should I just praise God and pray for the salvation of the lost?  Should I pray for every single request that comes to mind?  Should I only pray what I know is God’s will?  Should I pray the Lord’s Prayer like Jesus did and nothing more or less??? It goes on and on and on.

Today, I fell before the Lord and asked Him, “Lord, what is right and what is wrong for me to pray for? How do you want me to pray?”

He responded, “I just want you to spend time with me.  Just talk to me.  I will guide the conversation if you trust me.  Come to me with a heart of reverence and worship. Trust the Holy Spirit to lay on your heart what you should bring to me and when you should remain quiet and listen.”

There are lots of scriptures I could post on prayer.  But, today.  I’m just sharing what God wrote…on MY heart. I don’t need to worry if I ask for the right things or not. His answer and timing will always be perfect.  If I ask wrong, He will always answer right.

Now that I have written this before I forgot, I think I’ll go spend some more time talking to Him.  Perhaps you could just take a moment right now and do the same.

 

 

One thought on “How Do I Pray?

Leave a comment