Christmas Funerals

Today is Friday the 13th. Often is is looked upon as a day of bad luck.  But for one family today, it is a day of saying goodbye and celebrating life.  Today is the visitation day for a young mother and wife who has passed away from cancer.  This mother was also somebody I called a friend.  I can’t even begin to describe what a loving, godly, endearing woman she was.  It is truly a sad day for all whom she leaves behind.  But, at the same time as we mourn we also can celebrate a life that was lived completely.  She lived a full life. She lived every day that was ordained for her to live from the beginning of time.  She accomplished God’s purpose and now she gets to be home.

I can’t say I am not sad.  I am.  I will truly truly miss her and every time I look across the street I will be reminded of the empty space she once filled in her home. My heart aches for her husband, children, and family that love her so deeply.  I will miss how excited my Zoe (my mini doxie) would get every time she saw her.  I will miss the way that Zoe would stop in front of her house when we walked and insisted we go in to visit…and how she would just eat her alive with puppy kisses every time.  Jennifer was our puppy sitter and she truly treated our puppy as if she were her own.  She loved Zoe.

I got to have a cup of coffee with my friend just before things took a turn for the worst.  Even in her pain, weakness and suffering, all she could do was glorify God in her speech.  She was so positive and even in her sickness, more concerned for others than herself. She was so reassuring and more concerned with my comfort than her own. We had such a beautiful talk that day.  I’m so thankful I took the time to visit. Tomorrow is her funeral.

My grandmother passed away the day before Jennifer did, but 17 years ago.  That year my grandfather died just before Thanksgiving and my grandmother just before Christmas.  My grandmother was probably the most influential person in my childhood.  She is the one who introduced me to Jesus (although I didn’t accept Him as Savior until many years later).  I wasn’t able to attend either funeral because I lived too far away and the expense was too great.  We look at these Christmas funerals as tragic. What a horrible time to lose somebody.  Often, it ruins the Christmas season for people for the rest of their life.  They can’t enjoy it because it reminds them of so much pain and emptiness.  Today, I lift up all who have lost a loved one in the past couple weeks.  I pray for peace, strength, comfort and joy that surpasses all understanding.  I pray they will celebrate this season and remember the One who gives life and takes life is also the one who gave His own life.  It is because of this season we celebrate that we can have hope of being reunited with our loved ones at the feet of Jesus for all eternity…if indeed we have accepted the greatest Christmas gift ever given..the gift of the Savior…God’s son…given by God Himself, to die so that we might have eternal life.  Today, Jennifer joins my grandmother, my bestie, and other loved ones who have died in Christ in joyful worship. Together with the heavenly host they sing, “Holy Holy Holy is the Lord God Almighty Who was and is and is to come!”

Tomorrow,  I will attend Jennifer’s Christmas funeral.  For those left behind, it seems tragic to lose a loved one during the Christmas season.  But, for the one who dies in Christ, it’s the best Christmas ever!  So, tomorrow, in the midst of great sorrow on earth, there will be great celebration in Heaven.  At the same time, knowing her family, there will not be a great focus on the loss of their precious loved one.  I know these people.  Their faith and love for God and one another is a rare and priceless example that we all can follow.  I want to go to this Christmas funeral because I know I will be in a presence of godliness.  I want to be with them as they celebrate her life and say a temporary goodbye to their beloved wife, mother, daughter, sibling, relative, friend.  It is likely I will be invisible and that’s just what I want to be.  I want to just be there to say, “I care” and “thank you”.  Their family has made such a huge impact on my walk with God.  Merry Christmas sweet friend!

Leave a comment