Stop the Hurt

Hurting people hurt people. They can be difficult to love because they have likely not experienced the kind of love that enables them to be loving. The sad part is that it is a cycle that snowballs. People are afraid to love the hurting person because the hurting person hurts people. She is often eaten up with bitterness and very angry.  She is afraid to love and builds up walls to protect her heart.  She needs to feel safe before the walls will come down. This is why she hurts people, because she is lonely, afraid and feels worthless.

If we as children of God, can just push through and start loving more, maybe there would be less people hurting. People are far too critical and judgmental of one another (this is not excluding myself at times as well)…especially and sadly…people of faith (who are the example setters). I am not excluding myself when I say this. I have felt loved and I know how I respond…and I have been deeply wounded and I know how I have responded….and it hasn’t always been right. I am guilty. I confess. Would you? Too many people in the church are hurting. The odd thing is, they come to church seeking refuge. Do we inflict more injury or are they finding that refuge to heal that they so desperately need?

I don’t have a solution for this, but I know One who does and we can only find it on our knees…together…as a community. It’s time to confess our pride…one of God’s most hated of sins because it is at the root of most sin. It’s time to be transparent as we are called to live. It’s time to admit to ourselves that we don’t reach out because we fear. We fear discomfort. I know this because I battle it myself. So, the hurting are left to hurt and continue to hurt others. We need to come together on this. I think it is at the core of so many issues among believers…issues with depression, abuse, divorce, apathy, division, suicide, homocide…the list goes on. Hurting people don’t need to be addressed with a laundry list of faults. They already put themselves down all day every day. They need to see that they have good in them. They need to see their value in Christ. They need to know that they have a purpose and what that purpose is. Then they need to know the steps to move in that direction. This will help them to look inside themselves and hold themselves accountable to the Word of God that change might begin to take place.  That is why we are called to be salt and light! Instead we constantly point out flaws that we have no right pointing out.

We must stop Bible thumping and start being Jesus to those who are hurting. The Word of God will speak for itself. It doesn’t need to be pounded into anyone. I have had to learn this the hard way. The word of God is a double edged sword (Heb. 4:12). We do not need to be so quick judge others so much as we need to try to understand and approach the situation with care. We only need to  lead them to the Word of God and let IT be their judge.  We need to let the Word of God into our own  hearts in order to convict us and others who hurt toward change. It has been my experience that people who are hurting are more willing to reach out to others who hurt…but because they haven’t experienced healing, sometimes it does more harm than good. We have to get the hurting to a place of healing. They in turn will be great instruments of healing toward others.  We have got to stop hurting them even more.

Leave a comment